ArcheoFOSS
ArcheoFOSS 2022: Call for papers

TL;DR


Call for papers

The 16th edition of the International Conference ArcheoFOSS Open Software, hardware, processes, data and formats in archaeological research will be held in dual format, in presence and online on 22-24 September 2022.

The Conference is organised in seven panels that will introduce specific research topics on the general background of data sharing, open tools, processes and formats in the archaeological domain.

We are inviting scholars, independent researchers, institutions, freelance archaeologists and company representatives involved in Cultural Heritage to submit original research or case studies that expose the latest trends, theoretical or practical developments and challenges in the field.

Available panels

  1. Maps to the past. Open digital approaches to the investigation of historical maps
    Proponents: Julian Bogdani, Sapienza University of Rome, Rome (julian.bogdani@uniroma1.it, @JulianBogdani); Valeria Vitale, The Alan Turing Institute, London (vvitale@turing.ac.uk, @nottinauta)
  2. Moving in the past: open solutions for data set design, spatial analysis and spatial statistical methods to investigate movement in Antiquity
    Proponents Domizia D’Erasmo, Sapienza University of Rome, Rome (domizia.derasmo@uniroma1.it, @domizzzia); Noemi Giovino, Sapienza University of Rome, Rome (noemi.giovino@uniroma1.it)
  3. I/O: ethics, policies and technologies for programmatic and open access to archaeological online data sets.
    Proponents: Julian Bogdani, Sapienza University of Rome, Rome (julian.bogdani@uniroma1.it, @JulianBogdani); Riccardo Montalbano, Università Telematica Internazionale Uninettuno (ricca.montalbano@gmail.com, @Riccard52906185).
  4. GIS open source solution for archaeological context in between Universities, Public Administration, societies, research center: pyArchInit case.
    Proponents: Enzo Cocca, AdArte s.r.l. (archeologia@adarteinfo.it, @pyarchinit); Gianluca Martinez, Università di Pisa, Pisa (gianlucamartinez@hotmail.it).
  5. Electronic Publishing and Open Science in Archaeology.
    Proponents: Alessandra Caravale, ISPC, CNR (alessandra.caravale@cnr.it); Alessandra Piergrossi, ISPC, CNR (alessandra.piergrossi@cnr.it).
  6. Practice and Paradigms of Open Source Technologies for Archaeological Field Data.
    Proponents: Fabian Riebschläger, German Archaeological Institute (fabian.riebschlaeger@dainst.de, @friebsch); Thomas Kleinke, German Archaeological Institute (Thomas.kleinke@dainst.de).
  7. Archaeological stratigraphy data.
    Proponents: Stefano Costa, Ministero della Cultura (stefano.costa@beniculturali.it); Emanuel Demetrescu, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (emanuel.demetrescu@cnr.it).
  8. From wiki projects to OpenStreetMap, collaborative approaches to open data creation: problems, case studies, territorial and cultural impact.
    Proponents: Saverio Giulio Malatesta, Sapienza Università di Roma (saveriogiulio.malatesta@uniroma1.it); Paolo Rosati, Sapienza Università di Roma (paolo.rosati@uniroma1.it).

Abstract Submission

Please provide for each paper proposal the following information, in English:

  • Title of the proposal
  • Name of the selected panel
  • Full name(s) of the author(s)
  • Affiliation(s) of the author(s)
  • Email address(es) of all authors(s)
  • Proposal text (max. 3000 characters)
  • An optional illustrative image, complete with copyright notice

All proposals can be submitted by email at info@archeofoss.org or, preferrably, by creating a pull request at https://github.com/archeofoss/archeofoss2022 and using the provided template.

Texts and images should be released under CC BY-ND or other equally or more permissive licenses.

Plese note that all proposals will be promptly published on our Github repository and will be openly commented and evaluated by corresponding panelists and members of the Scientific Committee strictly following our Code of Conduct.


Publication of the Proceedings

After the Conference

All authors will be asked to submit a full paper that will be published in the official proceedings of the conference after a double blind peer-review process. The proceedings will be published as a special issue of Archeologia e Calcolatori scientific journal, an A indexed journal by ANVUR for Archaeology and Computer science.